Surviving Rock Bottom (Finale)

Over a month and a half later, and this plot line is finally wrapped up!

If you’ll recall, my husband and I were going through a financial hardship back in March. We owed a lot to the IRS for taxes, and I’d had one of my bank accounts hacked, too!

Well, despite a lot of research and discussion, we weren’t able to find a way out of the tax debt, but I finally got my money back! So, you know, there’s…something.

SRBF

Looking back on the whole situation, I’m pretty happy with the way we handled it. In dealing with the tax issue, we talked to several people for advice, and did a lot of research. We were able to take a good look at our money and determine what areas we could pull from to pay for the debt. Then, when it became obvious that we still weren’t able to get the money in time ourselves, we put aside our pride and asked for help.

Honestly, I don’t think there’s anything we could have done better in that situation.

After dealing with the banks and Google Plus (which is how the money was stolen), there was definitely a lot I wasn’t happy with, but it’s not really something I can change. It may help you to have these tips, though.

  1. Make sure your bank will fight for you from the start.
    What bothered me the most about my particular situation is that my bank wasn’t willing to fight for my money on my behalf unless I showed them proof that I had tried and failed to make any progress. This is total crap. What is a bank for except to hold and protect your money? If you’re in the market for a new bank, make sure to ask them about their policies regarding fraud. If they won’t handle a difficult situation like this for you from the start, you probably don’t want to give them control of your money.
  2. Be careful about what sites you buy from.
    We still aren’t totally sure how my card numbers were stolen, but it may have been from a site I used to get a bridesmaid’s dress. The site in question is prefectbridal.com. A further search into this site revealed that some people had experienced problems with their products and website in the past. I received my dress without any apparent issues, but I do wish I had checked for reviews on this site before I made the purchase. If you’re not sure about a site, do a search of the website name and the word “scam.” If anything comes up with people sharing bad experiences, avoid the site, even if it means you have to spend a little more. Again, we have no way of confirming that this site is the source of the issue, but it’s still a useful tip.
  3. Don’t take “no” for an answer.
    In order to get my money back, I had to spend a lot of time on the phone, or chats with Google Play trying to figure out what had happened. This was incredibly frustrating, especially when I could tell half the time people were just spouting a scripted, “I know how stressful this must be for you.” Since I’ve worked a phone job before, I have a hard time being rude to people on the phone. I’ve been on the other side, so I just don’t want to make someone else feel the way I did. But honestly, if you’ve lost a large sum of money, the situation is serious. Don’t waste your time talking to someone who has no idea what they’re saying. Request a transfer to someone in charge, and make sure that they speak the same language as you. Being firm may feel terribly rude to you, but keep it businesslike and the person on the other end won’t fault you.

So, there we go. A few tips that will hopefully help you avoid any problems like the ones I had to deal with.

Leave a Reply

