Inspiration from The Last Alchemist

I recently finished reading a book called The Last Alchemist by Erik Hamre. It’s a mystery thriller about a business student researching the life of a wildly successful man who disappeared. While the plot is incredibly well written, what inspired me was a set of “Principles of Wealth” that the author created to get the main character thinking about his own goals in life.

The principles given in the book are little more than stepping stones to get you in the correct mindset to be successful. In my mind, they have nothing to do with wealth, unless that’s what you believe makes a person successful.

Normally I can read a book in 1-2 days, especially the ones I’ve downloaded to my Kindle. Once I read the first principle, though, I found myself reading slow and rereading passages so that I could really let the ideas sink in.

While I was definitely interested in the story, I was more interested in using the principles to really think about where I am in life and where I want to go.

That being said, I’m starting something new. Using the ideas from The Last Alchemist as the starting point, I’ve come up with a set of principles of my own. These are more focused on family goals than monetary. I want to be successful, not wealthy (although I guess I wouldn’t turn that down if I got wealthy at the same time). I’m more focused on my life being full of joy and love and possibilities.

So, if you’re feeling like a slave to debt, and it seems like you can’t break through the walls holding you back from a successful home life, I encourage you to follow along. Take the time to really think about each principle and how it relates to you.

Since I want to spend a good amount of time with each principle, I’ll be posting them individually. For now, though, here’s the list of the main points.

  1. Faith
  2. Intent
  3. Decision
  4. Logistics
  5. Help
  6. Imagination
  7. Perception
  8. Tools
  9. Perseverance
  10. Investment

I’ll see you soon to discuss the first principle!

Leave a Reply

