Recipe Substitutes – Beef Stroganoff

I was at it again! This week’s recipe comes from the book Slow Cooker Tonight! by Cooking Light; Beef Stroganoff. I love using my slow cookers (I have three in varying sizes), so I have several cookbooks dedicated to giving me fun recipes to try! The ingredients for this one are:

  • Top round steak
  • Chopped onion
  • Chopped fresh parsley
  • Dijon mustard
  • Salt
  • Dried dill
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Sliced mushrooms
  • Garlic cloves
  • All-purpose flour
  • Beef broth
  • Sour cream
  • Egg noodles

Based on my food preferences, I immediately eliminated the onions and mushrooms. I also wasn’t able to get any top round steak, but I had a chuck roast I’d cut up a few weeks ago in the fridge, so I threw that in there. I also cut the recipe basically in half. Normally I’ll make a large amount so we can have leftover options, but I wasn’t totally sure about this one, so I just made enough for two. My list of ingredients is below:

RSbeefstroganoff

  •  1/2 lb Chuck roast (cut into chunks)
  • 1 tbsp Mustard
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Dill weed
  • 1/4 tsp Black pepper
  • 1/4 cup Flour
  • 1/2 cup Water
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 1 cup Macaroni noodles

As before, my steps were a little different since I was winging it. Here they are:

  1. Place chuck roast, mustard, and spices in a small slow cooker and stir well.
  2. Pour water into measuring cup, then add broth and whisk together until well blended. Pour over ingredients in slow cooker. Set to high for 1 hour, then reduce to low for 7-8 hours.
  3. When time is done, turn slow cooker off and remove the lid. Let stand for 10 minutes, then pour in milk.
  4. Serve over whatever type of noodles you have. I used macaroni.

Now, my only frame of reference on what beef stroganoff is supposed to taste like is the Hamburger Helper version. I have no idea if I should really be calling this recipe beef stroganoff anymore. What I ended up with was fairly bland (most likely due to replacing the beef broth with water), but not bad. It’s not one that I’ll pull out very often, but it was a nice little bit of variety in the week’s meals. The mustard and dill weed are flavors that we don’t often get in my main meal list.

Anyone out there know what beef stroganoff is supposed to taste like? How far off am I?

Leave a Reply

